You’ve got mail! (Or at least you will soon)

10 Aug

Well, dear reader, I finally did it.

Totally worth the $6

Yes, I finally managed to get my ass to a post office and pick up stamps for my postcard project.

Postcards! For you! (maybe)

Do you know what that means?

This is what mail boxes look like in Canada. See? We're learning!

If you sent me an e-mail asking for a postcard I can now officially assure you that it is IN THE MAIL.

No joke. See that? In. The. MAIL.

ISN’T THAT EXCITING??

Well I think it is. I had a lot of fun picking out and writing each of these cards and I hope that each person who receives one enjoys it too. In fact, I enjoyed sending snail mail SO MUCH that I’ve decided that I’m going to do an open call for the Postcard Project every month. Because, let’s face it, I like being the bearer of good tidings almost as much as I enjoy making people miserable! I’m like Ebenezer Scrooge on that fateful Christmas morning! Merry Christmas, Tiny Tim! HAVE A POSTCARD. (Fun fact: While writing this post I got distracted and wound up checking out what you’ve all been up to lately and LO AND BEHOLD, Bea of The Engagement Project ALSO made a Scrooge reference in a recent post. Woah.)

If postcard participants can do me but one favour (to add some substance to the fact that I’ve just upgraded this from “just randomly sending postcards to blogger friends” to “legitimate Project” status): When you receive your postcard, take a pic of it (you can pose with it, prop it against your cat, stick it in a cake. I don’t really care. Bogus points for creativity!) and then send it back to me. I’ll do a recap of each mailing and link the card back to you’re blog/Twitter account (Don’t worry, I won’t write where you’re from/real name/any personal shiz. Nothing that the internet doesn’t already know, I promise). You don’t have to, I just think it might be neat 🙂

Feel free to drop me a line at any time at yesthisisjam [at] gmail [dot] com if you want to get in on this postcard business.

Extra incentive? Humphrey and the Beaver are still up for grabs.

Ha ha, Humphrey and the Beaver…

Editor’s note: For your peace of mind, no stalking was involved in the Postcard Project, nor will it ever be. Unless you happen to be Megan, but only on good hair days.

9 Responses to “You’ve got mail! (Or at least you will soon)”

  1. kat August 11, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    How freakin’ adorable. I love the Humphrey Bogart one. 😀

  2. Jo and the Novelist August 12, 2010 at 4:37 am #

    That beaver’s got my name on it! Wait… That doesn’t sound right… I shall email you stat. LOVE!

    • alonewithcats August 17, 2010 at 1:34 am #

      Huh. I always thought you were more of a cock kind of gal.

      • Jam August 17, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

        Bah ha ha, nice.

  3. Megan (Best of Fates) August 12, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Whew! I was nervous ’til I read the “only on good hair days” corollary. I’m going to have to start reading faster.

    Also, I shall remain suspicious of actual post-carding until I receive said card.

  4. MelRod August 13, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    Lovely photos! Great post by the way.

    http://melrod1206.wordpress.com

    MelRod

  5. Dawn August 17, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    Sweet Baby Jeebus in Footie Pajamas, I got mine in the mail. And of course had to write about it. And take its picture. And possibly dance around and buy it a drink. What?

  6. Dawn August 17, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    P.S. This makes me famous, right?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Crazy Diaries « - August 25, 2010

    […] papers, quaint correspondence kits, copious amounts of postcards (that I’m only now finding reason to use!); I’ve got way more of it all than I’m ever going to need. But my biggest vice are […]

Leave a Reply

