Have postcards, will post them

12 Jul

When I was down in DC, I stumbled across the hotel stationary while hunting for the Do Not Disturb sign for the door (I’m one of those people who hates the idea of people coming into my room while I’m not there. Or even while I AM there. Either scenario, do not want. I’m never there long enough to need fresh towels anyway so housekeeping can just SIT DOWN).

I HAD to make use of the four sheets and two envelopes so I put out a call for volunteers on Twitter. Tara of Bite the Bedbugs and Jaimie of Grumbles and Grunts volunteered and at least one of their letters were written under the influence of some mighty fine margaritas courtesy of Chili’s. I think it was Jaimie. Sorry about that! Unless it made sense/was funny in which case you’re welcome!

Anyway, I love writing letters and sending post cards (even though I discovered the hard way that the physical act of writing them leads to hand cramps. Dammed keyboard! Look what you’ve done!).

And so, dear reader, I would like to get into the habit of sending out more (1) in order to get back into the habit of writing by hand and, 2) because old school mail is bitchin`).

Who doesn’t like getting postcards? Amirite?

So, if you wanna be pen pals/receive one of these loverly postcards in your mail box, send me an e-mail at yesthisisjam (at) gmail [dot] com with a mailing address and I’ll sen YOU a (hopefully) witty/charming/potentially drunken handwritten message on a postcard with Humphrey Bogart’s dashing visage on it* in return!

Because I mean, really, what else am I going to do with a bunch of postcards taped to the back of my closet door?

What?

IT’S ART.

(I also solemnly swear to not stalk you or sell your info to creepy people. Canadians have especially potent guilty consciences. The more you know!)

*Not true. There’s only one postcard with Humphrey Bogart’s dashing visage on it. So only one of you is getting one. Sorry about that.

8 Responses to “Have postcards, will post them”

  1. Elle Sees July 12, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    I want one! And I’m doing pen pals on my blog too!

    • Jam July 12, 2010 at 11:37 am #

      Cool! Send me your address lady 😉

  2. Kat July 12, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    Humphrey Bograt is honestly the man of my dreams. Really. Not kidding. I even named my cat after him. Who wouldn’t swoon over a voice like his? Damn.

    • Jam July 12, 2010 at 11:37 am #

      Well send me you address and his postcard shall be yours!

  3. Megan (Best of Fates) July 12, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    LOVE THIS.

    I am SO in.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Quickie – Lefty Loosey « - July 23, 2010

    […] Also, as I tend to do while traveling, I plan on picking up some postcards while I’m away. I’ll be sending out my first batch on Monday so there is still (and, let’s face it, ALWAYS) time to get in on some snail mail! Check the deets here […]

  2. You’ve got mail! (Or at least you will soon) « - August 10, 2010

    […] I finally managed to get my ass to a post office and pick up stamps for my postcard project. Postcards! For you! […]

  3. The Crazy Diaries « - August 25, 2010

    […] papers, quaint correspondence kits, copious amounts of postcards (that I’m only now finding reason to use!); I’ve got way more of it all than I’m ever going […]

Leave a Reply

