An interlude plus Jam in America, partie une

30 Jun

Today a co-worker brought his kids into work for the morning. It was a short day because of the holiday tomorrow and they were taking off down east as soon as we were set free. I’m not sure the convenience factor justifies bringing a 9 and 10-year old into a workplace for half a day but what do I know, I have a dog.

I guess because I’m easily the youngest person in our office, the girls gravitated into my cubicle and there they stayed for most of their visit. I did my best to keep working whilst fielding questions about whether or not I happen to be a fan of Justin Bieber and absentmindedly contributing to a few rounds of M.A.S.H (I wound up married to their dad with 15 kids. The upside being that we lived in a mansion and had a private jet. SCORE). Then one of them pointed to a photo of Boyfriend and I in our college grad robes and asked what the fuck we were wearing (in not so many words). I told her and yet she seemed skeptical.

“You went to College?” Her inflection put me on high alert.

“AND university,” I replied. “That’s FIVE extra years of school. It’s not as awful as it sounds.”

This, dear reader, is when that precious little girl raised her precious little eyebrow at me and asked in a tone laced with enough disdain to make any mother-in-law proud:

“Five years of school and you’re working here?”

It would have the most depressing statement ever if it also wasn’t also fucking HILARIOUS. Instead it was just slightly depressing.

And THAT, dear reader, is why I needed a vacation.

As I blog, Boyfriend and I are en route to Washington, D.C. for four days. Why D.C. You ask? Well that’s a mighty personal question, don’t you think? Also, what better way to celebrate the birth of your nation (mine being Canada in case you’ve missed that point along the way) than by spending it in the capital of another one? Amirite?

Anyway, I might find time to blog, I might not. It’s a vacation after all, and while I’m certainly no expert on the subject (I honestly can’t remember the last time I took one), I’m pretty sure it’s against the rules to obligate yourself to anything whilst you’re supposed to be vacating. Err, vacationing? Whatever, I’m on holiday.

Either way, I’ll still be on twitter in case any of you REALLY misses me. I’m addicted that way (to twitter AND you. Awww)

Miss you already,
Jammy Pants
(online person’s full name care of my doppelganger, Jo)

6 Responses to “An interlude plus Jam in America, partie une”

  1. Elle Sees July 1, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    Ha! I can relate. I have 3 degrees from Uni and I’m unemployed! Schools for fools! Ok, maybe not, but I feel like it today.

  2. 36x37 July 1, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    Ha! I forgot all about M.A.S.H. That made me laugh out loud.

    I don’t know what your line of work is, but it’s clear to me you should be writing. Great, witty voice, coherent style, I love it.

    Enjoy your vacation! Looking forward to reading more when you’re back. 🙂

  3. Kat July 2, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    I actually just posted about something similar today. Bachelors degree and still struggling. Isn’t life grand? Have a great trip. Try to forget about all the bullshit! 🙂

  4. kris July 6, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    I went to college, graduate school, and then law school to be a mom. All of that education? Has proved invaluable.

    But I have no idea what MASH is.

  5. Caitlin July 6, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Love that people are still playing MASH. That game was always interesting… and slightly depressing depending on who you got and what house and your occupation (trailer park and grocery store worker)

    I love DC! Have fun!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jam in America: Partie Deux « - July 7, 2010

    […] Because this was supposed to be a nice, relaxing vacation (which, as I’ve mentioned before, I’m no expert on) we planned nothing and instead flew by the proverbial seats of our pants/shorts/skirts/whatever […]

Leave a Reply

